Alumni Association awards scholarships


DIXFIELD — The Dixfield-Dirigo Alumni Association has announced this year’s scholarship recipients:

Brian Volkernick, University of Maine at Orono; Grace Hebert, Husson College; Brooke Holmquist, Husson College; Jesse Hutchinson, Unity College; Britteny Ellis, Thomas College; Courtney Heinz, Southern Maine Community College; and Sawyer Smith, Husson College.

Each student will receive $1,000 that will be sent to their respective schools.

Dylan Lord was awarded the Woodrow Mercier Scholarship, given by the school in honor of the former superintendent of schools. Lord plans to attend New England School of Welding and Central Maine Community Center.