Atrium presenting works of 78 local artists


The opening reception, free and open to the public, is from 6-8 p.m., Friday, Jan. 18 and will feature a cash bar and hors d’oeuvres.

The Tim O’Dell/James Lyden Jazz Duo will be performing at the reception. A native of Portland, ME, bassist Jim Lyden has been performing for over 40 years with blues, funk, rock and jazz groups in countless venues in Northern New England. Lyden currently performs with the Portland Jazz Orchestra.

Tim O’Dell has performed professionally in a myriad of genres, from symphony orchestras and classical chamber ensembles to Cuban bands, urban funk bands and jazz bands in New York, Miami, Boston, Chicago, throughout the Midwest and greater New England. O’Dell holds a Master of Music degree in Jazz Studies from the New England Conservatory and a Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Saxophone from the University of Iowa. He currently teaches music at the University of Southern Maine.

The exhibition includes paintings, prints, drawings, photographs and works in clay, wood, fiber, metal and mixed media. The exhibition features work in a variety of styles from representational to abstract, with landscapes, figure studies and portraits, still lifes and sculptural work.

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of USM’s Lewiston-Auburn campus, the Atrium Art Gallery will be offering works in the exhibit for sale, with proceeds going to the artists and the Lewiston-Auburn College Scholarship Fund.

The juried exhibition was open to all artists, age 18 and over, who were allowed to submit one or two pieces in any media. The gallery received 183 works from 100 artists, out of which the jury selected 90 works from 78 artists for the final exhibition. Jurors for the exhibition were Dan Mills and Gail Skudera, both Lewiston residents.


Dan Mills has been curating and jurying exhibitions and exhibiting his work throughout the country for over 25 years. He received his BFA from Rochester Institute of Technology in 1978 and his MFA from Northern Illinois University in 1981. He has directed academic museums since 1994, and was appointed Director of the Museum of Art and Lecturer in Humanities at Bates College in 2010.

Gail Skudera received a BFA in Textile Printing and Weaving and an MFA in Fiber from Northern Illinois University in DeKalb. She is a recipient of a Visual Artist Fellowship Grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, and has been exhibiting her work both nationally and internationally since 1981. Skudera has been an art lecturer, juror and instructor and a contributing writer to “Fiberarts” magazine for many years.

The Atrium Art Gallery is located in the hub of the University of Southern Maine’s Lewiston-Auburn College at 51 Westminster Street in Lewiston, offering interdisciplinary bachelor and graduate degree programs with both on-site and online classes.

Gallery hours are 8 a.m.- 8 p.m., Monday-Thursday; 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Friday; and 9 a.m.-3 p.m, Saturday; closed holidays. For more information, call 207-753-6554 or visit

Artists in the exhibit:

Kay Allison

Gerda Andersen

Marjorie Austin

Susan Bard

Susan Bennett

Stephanie Berry

Melody Dalessandro Bonnema

Julie Breau

Gloria Brown

Katherine Cargile

Karen Campbell

Patricia Chandler

Nancy Clark

Anita Clearfield

P.V. Collins

William Cox

Ronnie Decker

Linda DeSantis

Joyce Dubay

David Dupree

Pamela Ellis

Andrea Eusden

Liz Evans

Catherine Gibson

Robert Gibson

Leon Gin

Dennis Grafflin

R.J. Gray Jr.

Penelope Hall

Ron Hamilton

Scott Hunter

Irina Kahn

Gene Kelly

Joe Klofas

Maya Kuvaja

Marian Marks

Bill McCarthy

Sheridan McLaughlin

Constance McVey

Nikki Millonzi

Liette Morin

Pamela Morra

Mary Beth Morrison

Melanie Ness

Ian Ormon

Marion Osman

Arla Patch

Sheila Patrick

Matthew Peinado

Gerard Pelletier

Anita Poulin

Patricia Powers

Nancy Preble

Patricia A. Provencher

Charles Rappaport

Ellen Rawding

Thomas Reichard

Gail Rein

Kate Rogers

Kathryn Salvano

Murad Saÿen

August Schau

Carol Seward

Sandra Stanton

Lawrence Stevens

Lucia Swallow

Donald Talbot

Ulrike Taylor

Barbara Traficonte

Debra Trafton

Nancy Trider

Peggy Volock

Ryan M. Walker

Jill Snyder Wallace

Janet Washburn

Janalee Welch

Nora West

Roger Williams