Auburn Police Feedback Police accreditation review set for Aug.


• Public Hearing: 7 p.m. Aug. 13, Auburn Hall.

• Telephone testimony: People who can’t attend can call the CALEA assessors directly from 2-4 p.m. Aug. 13 at 576-4548

• Written comments can be mailed to the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc., 10302 Eaton Place, Suite 100, Fairfax, Va., 22030-2201.

Police accreditation review set for Aug.

AUBURN – Police hope inspectors from a national law enforcement group, due to arrive on Aug. 11, will give their department a top rating.

A group of police chiefs and law enforcement officials from the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies will spend five days in Auburn following officers, checking the department’s records and meeting with the public to rate the department’s effectiveness and professionalism.

It would be the cap to three years of work, said Police Chief Phil Crowell.

“The benefit for me is to have a better police agency,” he said. “It’s made us look at everything we do and the way that we do it and make sure we meet top standards. When you look at all of the things we’ve done, we’re already a better agency because of this.”

CALEA has drawn up a set of 355 standards covering every aspect of police work. Those standards were designed to help prevent and control crime, make departments more effective and efficient and help them cooperate with other agencies.

Crowell said working toward CALEA standards has forced the department to keep better records.

“I think we’ve always done a good job of following best law enforcement practices,” he said.

“Where we might have fallen short was documenting it.”

It also helps protect the police department from lawsuits and reduces the city’s liability insurance as well.

Auburn would become the second Maine community to have a CALEA -accredited police department.

The Lewiston police department is currently the only nationally accredited police agency in the state.

They first achieved that status in 1995. They were reaccredited in 2000, 2003 and 2007.