Bank announces scholarships


AUBURN — Mechanics Saving Bank has announced its 2010 Banking on the Future scholarship program. Thirteen $1,000 scholarships will be awarded to high school seniors graduating in 2010 to assist with their tuition and fees at an institution of higher learning next fall.

To be eligible, applicants must be a high school senior at one of the following schools: Edward Little High School, St. Dominic Regional High School, Lewiston High School, Leavitt Area High School, Lisbon High School, Monmouth Academy, Oak Hill High School, Poland Regional High School or Windham High School.

In addition, seniors from any Maine high school are eligible to apply if their family is a customer of Mechanics Savings Bank.

To qualify, applicants must be planning to attend a two- or four-year college, university or technical school, possess a grade average of 82 or better and have demonstrated community service experience. The deadline to apply is Friday, April 30.

Applications, guidelines and criteria for applying can be found online at, in the guidance offices of the nine participating high schools or in each of the three branches of Mechanics Savings Bank at 100 Minot Ave.; 664 Main St., Lewiston; and 3 Drive In Lane, Windham.

For more than 20 years, Mechanics Savings Bank has provided scholarships to assist high school graduates with their higher education tuition and fees.