Bank foundation adds Bethel school to scholars program


FARMINGTON — Students at 10 Western Maine high schools who plan to major in a business-related field in college are invited to apply for the Franklin Scholars program.

Franklin Savings Bank’s Community Development Foundation announced it has added Telstar Regional High School in Bethel to its scholarship program.

Each year the foundation awards 10 college scholarships totaling $30,000 to high school graduates.

“We at Franklin Savings Bank are pleased to be able to help defray the growing expense of a college education through our scholarship program at area schools,” FSB President and CEO Peter Judkins said.

In addition to Telstar, the scholarships will be available to 2015 graduates of Mt. Blue High School in Farmington, Mt. Abram Regional High School in Salem Township, Dirigo High School in Dixfield, Mountain Valley High School in Rumford, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, Skowhegan Area High School, Madison Area Memorial High School, Spruce Mountain High School in Jay and Carrabec High School.

High school seniors who plan to attend a four-year college or university and major in business-related fields such as accounting, finance, computer science or marketing, are eligible for the scholarships. Selection criteria are based on high academic achievement, community citizenship, participation in athletics or other extracurricular activities, and financial need.

Recipients will be selected by their school. Applications are available at school guidance offices, at Franklin Savings Bank locations and online at Completed applications must be turned in to the school and comply with deadlines established by the school.

The foundation was created in 2000 to support community, economic and educational needs within the communities served by Franklin Savings Bank. The scholarships have been awarded each year since 2001.

Since the scholarship program was expanded with the creation of the foundation, it has awarded $469,000 to 144 local Franklin Scholars.