Bethel Area Chamber offers awards


BETHEL — More than 200 well-wishers gathered at the Grand Summit Hotel at Sunday River Resort recently to recognize the achievements and contributions of 18 exemplary individuals.

The Bethel Area Chamber’s tradition of annual awards expanded to touch nearly every facet of community and economic life in the Bethel region. David Murphy, EdD, of Bethel was the emcee. Young and old, business and nonprofit, education and volunteerism, each of these constituencies was recognized through the efforts of one exemplary individual, chosen by a chamber committee comprised of former award recipients. A special award was presented in memory of Rocky Freda, a community and outdoor activist who died last summer.

The event was sponsored by Oxford Networks, WJ Wheeler & Co. Inc. and Sunday River Resort.

The Bethel Area Chamber of Commerce recently recognized 18 individuals for their achievements and contributions. Front row, from left: Susan Jennings, Bethel Area Nonprofit Service Award; Amy Marshall, Norway Savings Bank, Business of the Year; Al Cressy, Henry H. Hastings Award for Citizenship; Arlene Greenleaf, Lifetime Achievement Award; Kristy York, Hospitality Employee of the Year; Victoria Meisner, Education Employee of the Year; Roxanne Jewells, Student Citizenship Award. Back row, from left: Arlan Jodrey, Forest Products Industry Award; Jim Bennett, Volunteer of the Year; Christen Mason, Public Service Award; Jay Milot, Rocky Freda Memorial Award; Steve Wight, Maine Legislative Sentiments; Katie Houghton, Retail and Service Employee of the Year; Sarah Hemeon, Rising Star Entrepreneur Award; Evan Fessenden, Taste of Bethel Award; Jim Sysko, Special Recognition Award; Seth Shimamura, Student Citizenship Award.  Missing from photo, Darlene Ginsberg, President’s Award.