Bethel Chamber of Commerce announces award recipients


BETHEL — The Bethel Area Chamber of Commerce will present its 41st Annual Awards Dinner on May 7 at the Grand Summit Hotel at Sunday River Resort. The event will recognize a business that has made significant strides in the past year, deserving community servants, a forest products industry entrepreneur, and excellent employees who have made extraordinary contributions to their workplaces.

Norway Savings Bank is being presented the 2010 Business of the Year Award. The 2010 Forest Products Award will be given to Arlan Jodrey. Arlene Greenleaf, the longtime and very devoted former director of the Bethel Emergency Ambulance and Rescue Service will receive the 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award. Al Cressy will be presented the 2010 Henry H. Hastings Award for Citizenship. Darlene Ginsberg, co-owner of the Perennial Inn, will be presented the President’s Award for her devotion and service to the Bethel Area Chamber of Commerce. The 2010 Public Service Award will be presented to Christen Mason of Bethel. Susan Jennings will receive the 2010 Bethel Area Non-Profit Award. This year’s Rising Star Entrepreneur Award goes to Sara Hemeon.

The chamber presents Employee of the Year Awards in four categories.

Receiving the 2010 Education Award is Victoria Meisner, a 39-year veteran employee of SAD44. Kristy York, an employee of the River View Resort, is being presented the 2010 Hospitality Employee of the Year award. Receiving the 2010 Retail and Service Employee of the Year award  is Katie Manzer Houghton, who is employed with chamber member Dixfield Discount Fuel. Caroline Ochtera from Sunday River Resort will be presented the 2010 Ski Industry Employee of the Year Award.

The chamber presents three Telstar High School students with awards.

Evan Fessenden, son of Donna Gifford, is receiving the Taste of Bethel Award in his pursuit of post-secondary training in Culinary Arts at SMCC.

Two students will be presented with Student Citizenship Awards: Roxanne Leigh Jewell, daughter of Bruce and Judith Smith of Bethel, and Seth James Ryozo Shimimura, son of Rodney and Dawn Welch of West Paris. These three students were selected by the staff at Telstar High School and have been cited in exemplifying the highest qualities of school and community citizenship.

A special award is being presented this year in memory of Rocky Freda. In its inaugural year, Jay Milot will be presented the Rocky Freda Memorial Award.

Volunteer of the Year, as well as another special award, will also be presented that evening. The emcee of the event will be David Murphy of Bethel.

Anyone from the community is welcome to this event. Cost is $38 per person for a complete buffet dinner or $325 for a business sponsoring a table for 8 (with added marketing and public relations benefits.) For reservations, call the chamber office at 824-2282 no later than May 4. Prepayment is required. Social hour begins at 6 p.m. accompanied by a silent auction. The dinner will be served promptly at 7 p.m. The event is being sponsored by Oxford Networks, WJ Wheeler & Co. Inc., and Sunday River Resort.