Bicycle coalition presents awards


AUGUSTA – The Bicycle Coalition of Maine presented awards to several legislators, businesses and volunteers at the coalition’s recent annual meeting. Awards were given to the following area residents:

Public Servants of the Year: Sen. Dennis Damon (D-Trenton), Sen. Karl Turner (R-Cumberland), Rep. Boyd Marley (D-Portland), Rep. Richard Cleary (D-Houlton), Rep. Deborah Simpson (D-Auburn), Rep. Bill Browne (R-Vassalboro) and Rep. Ann Peoples (D-Westbrook). All played roles in the passage of L.D. 1808, Maine’s new, comprehensive bicycle safety law.

Bicycle Safety Educator of the Year: Dave Kinsman of Fryeburg. For the past six years, Kinsman has taught bicycle safety classes at schools throughout western Maine. As he teaches children how to be safe bike drivers, he also encourages them to share the information with others in their families.

Walk and Bike to School Award: Tobin Scipione of Portland and Denise Delorie of Norridgewock. Scipione helped start Maine’s Safe Routes to School program. Delorie has worked on the program since 2006 and helped it expand to 78 schools.

President’s Award: Sue Ellen Bordwell of Yarmouth and Maggie Warren of Hallowell. Bordwell has served on the coalition board, as its president (2003-2005) and as chairwoman of the Government Relations Committee. Warren has served as a board member, secretary and editor of the newsletter. She has staffed booths at many biking events throughout Maine.

Advocating bicycling safety, education and access in Maine since 1992, the coalition is working to make Maine accessible and safe for all residents and visitors so they may comfortably and responsibly bicycle. It also promotes bicycling for transportation, health, recreation and fun.