CMCC honors achievements at annual dinner


AUBURN — A “Celebration of Excellence” was the theme of the third Central Maine Commu­nity College annual dinner held recently at the Hilton Garden Inn. More than 200 people attended the event which was sponsored by the college’s Education Foundation board of directors. Proceeds from the dinner will benefit the foundation’s scholarship fund.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of awards to individuals and organizations that were noted for their achievements or contributions to the college.

The following students were honored: Natalie Hollows of Auburn and Rebecca Smith of Lewiston for being named to the All-Maine Academic Team; Matthew Sceviour of Boothbay Harbor and Teira Durgin of Hebron, Male and Female Ath­letes of the Year; Caryn Fredsall of Waterford, Scholar­ship Recipients of the Year; Beverly Robinson of West Paris and Norman Works of Gray, “Against All Odds” Awards; Kevin Fitzpatrick of Newcastle, Armed Services Veteran of the Year; and Emily Morris of Jefferson, Student of the Year.

Walter Ridlon of Lewiston, director of career pathways, was honored as the Staff Per­son of the Year. The Fac­ulty Member of the Year award was given to John Wilson of Auburn, who serves as chair of the graphic communications program. Lloyd Pulsifer, class of 1968, of Oxford, was given the Alum­nus of the Year Award. Pulsifer is chair of the precision machining technology program at the college.

The Corpo­rate Partner of the Year Award went to Harriman, Architects and Engineers, and the President’s Award was given to the Franklin County Community College Network.