CMMC family medicine residents graduate


LEWISTON — The Central Maine Medical Center Family Medicine Residency recognized seven third-year family medicine residents at recent graduation exercises.

Honored were family physicians Clayton Bell, M.D., Aaron Hoffman, D.O., M.P.H., Genesis Juat, M.D., Erik Seth Kramer, D.O., M.P.H., Mariette Macrander, M.D., Aliya Rahemtulla, M.D., and Margo Sullivan, D.O.

Several awards were also presented during the graduation ceremony.

Central Maine Medical Center Special Care of Residents Award was presented to Norene Rand, CMMC Food Service. Nursing Award presented to Charmain Gordon, M.A. CMMC Hospitalist of the Year presented to Michael Moffatt, M.D. CMMC Nighthawk of the Year presented to William Talpey, M.D.

Community Preceptor of the Year presented to Kristen Brown, M.D. Family Medicine Residency Mentor of the Year presented to Bethany Picker, M.D. The Dr. Bruce Johnson Residency Teacher of the Year Award presented to Dieter Kreckel, M.D. The Johnson Residency award honors the physician who, as voted by the graduating senior residents, made the most outstanding contribution to their Family Medicine Residency education.

Awards were also made for Swift River Family Medicine in Rumford. Swift River Staff of the Year Award presented to Sharon Rickards, Administration/Recruiting. Rural Track Faculty of the Year presented to Stephanie Sinclair M.D. Research and Scholarly Award to Erik Seth Kramer, D.O., M.P.H.

Professionalism Awards to Ben Kamin, M.D., and Shayna Shackford, D.O.

Rock and a Hard Place gifts to Lewiston co-chief residents Erik Seth Kramer, D.O., M.P.H., and Aaron Hoffman, D.O., M.P.H., and rural training track chief Mariette Macrander, M.D., in honor of their service and contributions as resident leaders.

Bruce Kenney D.O., D.O.M.E., and Wilderness and International Medicine director, presented a slideshow showcasing international rotation experiences followed by certificate presentations to WIMP graduates Clayton Bell, M.D., Margo Sullivan D.O., Aliya Rahemtulla, M.D., and Genesis Juat M.D.

Raj Woolever, M.D., presented the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine award to Margo Sullivan, D.O. This award recognizes a resident who has demonstrated skills and interest in teaching/precepting medical students; interest and excellence in teaching peers, physician assistants, nursing students, pharmacy students, and participation in a practice improvement or residency education committee; outstanding presentations at grand rounds and/or regional or national family meetings; valued as a teacher by patients and peers; and involved in community teaching.

Following the awards, Woolever and the residency faculty presented the graduates with their diplomas and Associate Program Director Deborah Taylor, Ph.D., gave the closing presentation.

The graduating residents will begin practice or further training as follows: Clayton Bell, M.D., integrative medicine fellowship at Kansas University Medical Center; Aaron Hoffman, D.O., M.P.H., ambulatory practice, Massachusetts General Hospital; Genesis Juat, M.D., Healthpoint in Seattle/Tacoma Wash.; Erik Seth Kramer, D.O., M.P.H., Eagle Ridge Medical Platte Valley Medical Center Brighton/Denver, Colo.; Mariette Macrander, M.D., Mirasol Family Health Center, Hermiston, Oregon; Aliya Rahemtulla, M.D., Vancouver Island, B.C.; Margo Sullivan, D.O., CMMC Family Medicine Residency Plus One Fellowship.