Deadlines approaching for those seeking municipal office in Rumford, Bethel


RUMFORD — Area drivers won’t begin to see signs touting municipal candidates until after May 10, the deadline for people seeking office to return papers.

In Rumford, Deputy Clerk Beth Bellegarde said Thursday morning that she will run for a two-year term as town clerk and treasurer. Current treasurer and Town Clerk Jane Giasson has decided to retire, she said.

Bellegarde said she’s taken out papers for the positions, but per Rumford law, no one can return them before Monday, April 26. As of Thursday, she was the only person openly seeking the position.

Tax collector John Giambattista, who was elected last year to fill the remaining one-year term of Carlo Puiia, who became town manager, is seeking re-election to a two-year term.

For selectmen, incumbent Jeff Sterling and newcomer Paul Lowell have taken out papers for the remaining one-year term of Selectman Robert Cameron, who resigned last fall. Selectmen appointed Sterling to finish Cameron’s second year.

Additionally, incumbent Selectmen Brad Adley and Frank DiConzo have taken out papers for another three-year term each, as well as newcomers Jeremy Volkernick and Frank Anastasio, so far.

Bellegarde said Board of Assessors Chairman Peter Perry will seek re-election for a one-year term.

For RSU 10 School Board seats, Stephanie Gammon took out papers for a one-year term, and incumbent Linda Westleigh took out papers for a three-year term.

Bellegarde said Westleigh filled a one-year unexpired term, the last year of which Gammon is seeking.

Voting times for the June 8 election are from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the American Legion on upper Congress Street. Town meeting balloting is June 7.

In Bethel, Town Clerk Christen Mason said the deadline to return papers for municipal seats is 5 p.m. Monday, April 26.

For selectmen, incumbents Stan Howe and Donald Bennett have taken out and returned papers to seek re-election. Darren M. Tripp, former Bethel police chief,  also took out papers for selectman but has yet to return them, Mason said.

Howe has also returned papers to seek re-election to a three-year term on the Board of Assessors, whereas incumbent assessor David Luxton has not yet returned papers to seek re-election.

For the SAD 44 School Board, there are two open three-year terms. Mason said that incumbent Lynn Arizzi has returned papers to seek re-election, but incumbent Elaine Cross has yet to return her papers. Newcomer Katherine Botka has taken out and returned papers to try for one of the two terms.

Bethel municipal election balloting will be from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on June 8 in the Crescent Park School gym.

[email protected]