FBLA chapter wins awards


BETHEL — The Telstar Regional High School Future Business Leaders of America Chapter recently participated in the Maine State Leadership Conference in South Portland.

Twenty-nine students attended the event, which included activities such as business related testing, business and college preparatory workshops, motivational speakers, leadership and spirit activities. The chapter took home 15 awards including the Market Share Award, which is awarded to the school with the largest percentage of students in FBLA compared with school enrollment.

Telstar will be represented by two students on the Maine State Executive FBLA Board for the next school year: Victoria Forkus as the vice president and Jean Lawrence as parliamentarian.

The following students earned awards for business and leadership skill testing:

Megan Bonney: second place in Business Communications, with a $750 scholarship to Johnson and Wales University; first place in Management Information Systems.

Simon Smith: third, Business Law; second, Public Speaking II.

Jean Lawrence: first, Parliamentarian Procedures.

Errol Silver: third, Computer Problem Solving.

Thomas Conroy: third, Cyber Securities; first, Technology Concepts.

Adam Mahar: second, Database Design and Application; third, Introduction to Technology Concepts.

Nic Kingsbury: third, Networking Concepts.

Molly Keane: second, Spirit Poster.

Jamie Steven: first, Spirit Centerpiece.

Morgan Lee: third, Spirit Scavenger Hunt.