Governor to award medals to local veterans


LEWISTON — LA Veterans Council Chairman Paul Bernard is announcing that the council will sponsor the presentation of Maine Silver Star Honorable Service Medals at 1 p.m. Saturday, April 17, at the Lewiston Armory.

Gov. John E. Baldacci, Major General John W. Libby and Peter W. Ogden, director of the Maine Division of Veterans Services, will present the Maine Silver Star Honorable Service Medals to local veterans who are former Prisoners of War and Purple Heart recipients.

The medals were first awarded to Maine veterans in August 2006 to those who have been wounded while serving their country and to former POWs.

“It’s an honor to present these medals to our veterans,” Baldacci said. “Some of the men who will join us to be recognized for their heroism served in World War II to the present conflicts. To these veterans — your service to your country and your sacrifices for our freedom will never be forgotten.”

The LA Veterans Council consists of the American Legion, Veterans of Foreign War, Disabled American Veterans, AmVets, Marine Corps League, Franco American War Veterans and auxiliary units.

Applications are now being accepted for the 20th veterans memorial stone to be unveiled on  Veterans Day at the Veterans Memorial Park. The 19th stone is completed and will be unveiled at 11:30 a.m. Saturday, May 29.

The council is also working on Project History, a monument remembering the women who served and a memorial for the unknown soldier.

For more information, contact Bernard at [email protected], by mail 451 Lower St., Turner, ME 04282, or call 225-3285.

The council is attempting locate veterans or family members so they can accept their awards on April 17 as follows: Elmer L. Beaulieu, Maurice Daigle, Howard Damon, Gaston C. Gauthier, Robert I. Malo, Ange J. Nadeau, Jean A. Perron, Conrad J. Poisson, Olive Archelas G. Therberge, Lionel L. Tremblay and Robert B. Vail, all of Lewiston.

Also, Forrest E. Crockett, Aime J. Foisy, Armand L. Madore, Leo J. Mazerole, Armand H. Rousseau, Harold C. Schakleton, Alfred V. Thompson and Harvey W. Dearborn, all of Auburn.

Also, Albert Lemke, Turner; William F. Flynt, Lisbon; Albert R. Tobin, Lisbon Falls; Reginald G. McBean and Murry A. Schwartz, Mechanic Falls.

Contact Bernard as soon as possible at 225-3285 or e-mail at [email protected]