H.S. Basketball: 11 locals among Maine McDonald’s All-Stars


AUGUSTA — Eleven local seniors have been named 2014 Maine McDonald’s High School Senior All-Star teams.

The Maine McDonald’s High School Senior All-Star Game will be played March 8 at Newman Gymnasium on the campus of Husson Univversity in Bangor.

Kory Norcross of Edward Little and Mt. Blue’s Miranda Nicely will play for the A/B East Girls, which will square off against an A/B West team that includes Poland’s Emily Bolduc.

Kylie Kemp of Monmouth Academy and Kelly Pomerleau of St. Dom’s will represent the C/D West.

The A/B West Boys’ All-Star team includes Caleb Martin of Poland. The C/D West All-Stars feature Dirigo’s Dylan  Kidder, Marcques Houston of Monmouth Academy, Lisbon’s Tucker Brannon and Matt Dyer of St. Dom’s.

Local All-Star coaches are Craig Jipson of Edward Little and Scott Graffam of Oxford Hills, who will co-coach the A/B East Girls and Boys, respectively.

Erik Taylor of Spruce Mountain was named to the Boys All-State Academic Team. Sara Carder of Gray-New Gloucester was named foul shooting champion for the South Region and Emily Keene of Spruce Mountain foul shooting champion for the Central Region. They will compete with representatives from two other regions for the state foul shooting championship, which will be held prior to the All-Star games.

Eleven Mr. Maine Basketball and 10 Miss Maine Basketball semifinalists were also announced Wednesday. Mr. Basketball semifinalists are — Dustin Cole (Bonny Eagle), Michael McDevitt (Greely), Isaiah Bess (Hampden), Zach Gilpin (Hampden), Jon Phelps (MDI), Isaiah Stone-Patterson  (Oceanside), Trevor Lyford (Penquis), Jayvon Pitts-Young (Portland), Justin Zukowski  (Portland), Serge Nyirikamba (Waynflete) and Jacob Moody (Wells).

Miss Basketball semifinalists are — Allie Clement (McAuley), Olivia Smith (McAuley), Emily Quirion (Cony), Nina Davenport (Freeport), Tiana-Jo Carter (Lake Region), Parise Rossignol (Van Buren), Hannah Shaw (MDI),  Anna Mackenzie (Nokomis), Raychel Alley (Stearns) and Alison Furness (Wells).

Three finalists for each award will be announced following the basketball tournament, and winners will be announced Friday, March 7.

Tickets to the All-Star games are $8 for adults, $5 for students and children. They can be purchased at the door and are good for all four games.