Local 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program finalists listed


EVANSTON, Illinois — Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) have announced the names of area semifinalists in the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level. About 90 percent are expected to attain the standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

Local semifinalists of the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program include:

Lewiston High School: Conrad J. Laroche-Albert, Brooke M. Smiley and Jordan A. Smiley.

Monmouth Academy: Dylan Goff.

Poland Regional High School: Emma S. Galipeau-Eldridge.


Mt. Ararat High School, Topsham: Peter T. Mao.