Local Racing Roundup: Bryan Kruczek wins PASS 150 at Oxford


Bryan Kruczek of Newmarket, N.H., scored his second Pro All Stars Series North win of the season Sunday afternoon in the H.P. Hood 150 at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Kruczek, who also won at Beech Ridge in the spring, took the lead from Mike Hopkins of Hermon on a lap 90 restart and pulled away impressively down the stretch.

Jeremy Davis dominated the first half of the event before settling for second. Super Late Model rookie Garrett Hall edged Hopkins for third at the line, with Kelly Moore fifth.

Forty cars attempted to qualify, with 36 in the starting lineup and 13 finishing on the lead lap. Scott Mulkern, Davis, Mike Rowe and Moore were qualifying race winners.

The race was a tune-up for the AIM Recycling USA Oxford 250 presented by Kenny U-Pull on Sunday, August 30.

Josh Childs (Street Stock) and Doug McClure (Modifieds) won support features.

Shawn Knight kept up his red-hot recent pace with his second Budweiser Super Late Model win of the year at OPS on Saturday night.

Knight charged past third-generation racer Gunnar Rowe with 19 laps remaining and set sail to the win. Kyle Treadwell was second, followed by multi-time PASS champion Clark, point leader Brackett and last week’s winner Scott Robbins.

Matt Sanborn met a goal that began more than a decade ago with his victory in the Modified feature. It was the first career win for the veteran of Pro Stock and Late Model competition. Sanborn outdueled New England racing legend Robbie Crouch early in the event, then held off Ryan Robbins and Scott Alexander for the checkers. Nik Coates was fourth, while Sanborn’s father, Randy, completed the top five.

Matt Williams dominated Street Stock action with convincing victories in both his heat and feature races. Jonathan Emerson was runner-up in the main event ahead of his father, Zach. Bryce Mains was fourth and Gary Davis fifth.

Jon Lizotte, who scored OPS feature win No. 100 a weeks ago, got started on the next hundred with a Figure Eight win over David Smith. Lizotte finished the final three laps with a slack tire. Mike St. Germain, Geoff Low and Eric Hodgkins followed the wily veterans across the line.

When the apparent Bandit winner was disqualified in the post-race inspection, Troy Smith inherited the first-place trophy. Dan Wade collected second, followed by Cam Childs, Tyler Green and Shaun Hinkley.

Lanpher continues Beech Ridge roll

It had been five years since any driver was able to win consecutive features in the NASCAR Pro Series at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, but Manchester teen Reid Lanpher continued his dream season by accomplishing that feat Saturday night.

Lanpher’s second straight win padded his division point lead. Curt Gerry was second, with leading rookie Hall third and defending champion Dave Farrington Jr. of Jay fourth.

The other main attraction in Scarborough on Saturday night was the Twijn 50s for the Valenti Modified Series, and the tight finish had no shortage of controversy.

Woody Pitkat was in line to take home the victory by virtue of the best aggregate finish. He was penalized for contact with another car on the final lap, however, and tour officials declared Anthony Nocella the winner.

Nocella was the first car across the line in the initial 50-lap segment. Todd Szegedy claimed second overall, with Todd Annarummo third.

Russ Morse outdueled Reggie Leeman to win the Sport Series feature. Frank Wear was third.

Adam Lovejoy landed his third Wildcat win of the summer with Chaz Briggs and Mac Hannan Jr. giving chase.

Brown best at Wiscasset

Dan Brown of Peru made the long haul worthwhile with a 35-lap Strictly Street victory at Wiscasset Speedway on Saturday night.Chandler Harrison held down second in the spotlight event of the evening, followed by Ethan Dinsmore, Cody Verrill and Joe Hutter of Leeds.

Andrew McLaughlin aced the Late Model Sportsman feature, overcoming challenges from runner-up Nick Hinkley and third-place Dave St. Clair. Tyler Robbins and Shane Clark completed the top five.

Shawn Kimball was Outlaw Mini winner ahead of Justin Trombley and Billy Childs Jr. of Leeds. Bryan Lancaster and Cody Tribbet were next in line.

Nick Reno (Modified) and Matt Grant (NELCAR Legends) also scored wins.