Maine Elks recognize students


CARRABASSETT VALLEY — The Maine Elks honored several top students in the Elks Most Valuable Student Scholarship Competition recently at the 81st Maine Elks Association State Convention held at Sugarloaf USA.

Seven students from across the state received recognition plaques for their achievement. Presenting the awards were MEA Scholarship Director Donald Dow of the Sebasticook Valley Elks Lodge in Pittsfield and MEA State President Michael Powers of the Houlton Elks Lodge.

Students recognized for their achievement were Margaret Ditre of the Maranacook Community High School, Vinh Nguyen of Rockland District High School, Danielle Rafferty of Kennebunk High school, Bennett Doughty of Winthrop High School, Jean McCabe of Deering High School, Joseph Harwood of Cony High School and Amanda Hall of Mt. Blue High School.

Special Recognition was given to Hall and Doughty as the top female and male student in the state. Hall received the Ginny Bristol Award, and Doughty received the Leonard Bristol Award.

Hall, of Farmington, also received special recognition as the first Maine student to be awarded second place in the nation in the Elks Most Valuable Student Scholarship program since its inception in 1928. Hall will receive a $40,000 dollar scholarship through the Elks National Foundation.