Maine Ski Hall of Fame to induct eight skiers


KINGFIELD —Eight new members will be inducted at the 15th annual Maine Ski Hall of Fame banquet at the Grand Summit Hotel at Sunday River on October 28.

This year’s class includes Karen Hunter Korn, U.S. World Cup Team freestyle skier; Chip Cochrane, World Cup downhill racer and coach; Ed Rock, general manager of Shawnee Peak in Bridgton for 34 years; Bruce Miles, president of the Sugarloaf Ski Club, past executive director of the Ski Museum of Maine and certified lifetime PSIA member; Steve DeAngelis, ski coach at Maranacook High School for over 33 years; David Chamberlain, All-American Nordic skier; Dick Taylor, World Cup biathlete and U.S. Olympic Nordic Team captain; and Ralph Ostlund of New Sweden, who returned to cross country ski racing at the age of 50 and piled up an impressive number of medals into his 80’s.

With the induction of this class, the number of skiers recognized by the Hall of Fame since its first induction banquet in 2003 will reach 129. The Maine Ski Hall of Fame was formed fifteen years ago to recognize those Maine skiers that have brought distinction to Maine skiing or made significant contributions to the sport. They may include competitors, coaches, instructors, ski patrollers, ski area builders, managers and volunteers. A program of the Ski Museum of Maine, the Maine Ski Hall of Fame records the history of Maine skiing through the biographies produced for each class. Inductee biographies written in the annual program are archived in the museum and on the website,

The Ski Museum etablished in 1995 exhibits artifacts, photographs, artworks and documents at its location in Kingfield. It conducts educational programs to ski clubs, schools, libraries, historical and civic organizations and hosts social events and activities throughout the year. Information about the Ski Museum of Maine is online at Reservations for the 2017 Hall of Fame banquet can be made by contacting Ski Maine at 207-699-3121 or at