Newcomer elected to Poland Board of Selectmen


POLAND — Voters on Friday made a change to their Board of Selectmen, electing political newcomer Lester Stevens with 198 votes. Wendy Sanborn was returned for a third term with 184 votes.

Others in the race were Sandra Knowles with 164 votes and Joseph Cimino with 139.

Mary Ella Jones was returned to the RSU 16 board with 172 votes. George Sanborn received 123 votes and Ervin Walker III, 76 votes.

Facing no opposition for their seats on the A. B. Ricker Memorial Library board of trustees, Sue Ellis and Corwin Packard were re-elected with 321 and 236 votes, respectively.

A total of 397 voters cast ballots.

The business portion of the annual town meeting convenes at 9 a.m. at the Poland Regional High School.