Norway Savings honors employees


NORWAY — Norway Savings Bank held its annual employee awards banquet recently to celebrate the company’s achievements and successes of the prior year. A special guest of honor, Olympian Seth Wescott, surprised bank employees by speaking at the event and helping to distribute the awards.

Sharon Bean, vice president and retail lending specialist, was named as Employee of the Year for her knowledge, support and dedication to the bank’s retail lending function. Bean has been with the bank for 25 years and works in the bank’s main office in Norway.

This year’s President’s Award was given to Deb McPhail, vice president, deposit operations manager, for serving Norway Savings Bank with honesty, integrity and exceptional service over the past 25 years. McPhail works in the bank’s operations center in Norway.

The following employees were recipients of an awards certificate and paid day off for exhibiting elements of the bank’s culture through their daily responsibilities and high quality of work:

• Achievement Award: Kati Chandler (Yarmouth branch) and Kyle Hodgkins (Gorham branch)

• Branding Award: Chris Martin (Windham branch) and Becky Mason (Norway branch)

• Communications Award: Bobbie-Jo Chase (Deposit Operations) and Stephanie Healey (Marketing)

• Customer Service Award: Jessica LeConte (Norway branch) and Jill Pendexter (E-Services)

• Empowerment Award: Ann Brett (IT) and Stephanie Labbe (Deposit Operations)

• Leadership Award: Jesse Shand (Bridgton branch) and Faith Smith (Saco branch)

• Team Player Award: Janel Danforth (IT) and Maria Tripp (Retail Loan Center)

Service awards were given to the following employees for their tenure with Norway Savings Bank: 30 years of service, BJ Woodworth; 25 years of service, Shelly Stevens; 20 years of service, Talley Kahkonen; 15 years of service, Jack Day, Peter Godsoe and Mary Jane King; 10 years of service, Brian Bernier, Pam Bowermann, Iva Carroll, Shelly Davidson, Liz Dickerson, John Griffith, Darci Hamm, Deb Herrick, Stephanie Labbe, Amy Marshall, Jeff McLellan, Irene Millett, Cheryl Shellenbarger and Carolyn Thomas; five years of service, Wendi-Lee Bailey, Liz Benson, Mary Bernard, Ray Charest, Jen Clemons, CeCe Colpitts, Cathy Cyr, Sharon Elwell, Kurt Garascia, Kathy Harrison, Abby Kimball, Maria Martin, Ashley Owen, Heather Smith, Kim Smith, Heidi Strout, Kevin Sunderland and Anna Trevorrow.