Norway’s $3.8 million budget unveiled with no job losses


NORWAY — Town Manager David Holt has unveiled a $3.8 million municipal budget that is $68,000 more than this year and does not cut employee jobs or hours.

“It’s a hard year but a simpler one than in the past,” Holt said of the 2010-11 budget process that will now start going through individual department reviews with the Board of Selectmen.

Holt told selectmen at their Thursday night meeting that the budget increase is about the same amount as the estimated loss to Norway in state revenue sharing, which is $65,000.

Holt said some department budgets, such as general administration, police, emergency management, Norway-Paris Solid Waste, cemeteries, highway, provider agencies, library and recreation are the same as last year or less.

“I’m worried a lot about some budgets being underfunded,” Holt noted.

There are no pay raises included in the spending plan. The police union is the only contract still under negotiation. According to a budget explanation letter from police Chief Rob Federico, the union originally asked for a 2 percent salary increase but an alternate request has none.

Holt said the budget also includes an increase of $20,000 for hydrant rental and an increase of $23,000 in health insurance costs.

He told the board that a $1 million bond is being recommended by the roads committee. He said product prices are less now than was expected and a bond issue is being retired this year, which will keep costs lower.

The road bond package recommendation includes paving on Dunn Road, Frost Hill, Crockett Ridge Road, Hemingway Road and Town Farm Road. Also included in the package are Greenwood Road, Don Hunt Road and the Morse Road.

There will also be sidewalk, paving and drainage work done on Cottage Street and paving and drainage work on Winter and Green streets. The Dunn-Shedd roads intersection will also be ground and paved if the money is approved.

The budget will be enacted by voters at the June town meeting. A date has not been set.

The 13 members of the Budget Committee are Jim Boyce, Marion Denbow, George Gilman, Arthur Hill, Vern Maxfield, David Millett, Tony Morra, Carroll Roth, Heidi Schellenger, Douglas Smith, Ed Smith, Bob Walker and Wesley Wentworth. The committee is expected to meet next week to elect a chairman and begin its budget reviews.

[email protected]