NRCM to present Conservation Leadership Awards


HALLOWELL — The Natural Resources Council of Maine will host a celebration of citizen activism, courage and leadership from 5 to 7 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 15, at Maple Hill Farm Inn in Hallowell, to honor nine extraordinary Maine citizens with Conservation Leadership Awards.

All are welcome. The reception begins at 5 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony at 6. Hors d’oeuvres and a cash bar will be provided. RSVP online at or call Joyce Gracie at 207-430-0128.

This year’s winners are working on climate change, water pollution and more, including:

* Jim and Kathy Wellehan (Auburn), Lifetime Achievement Award, for demonstrating that what is good for the environment is good for business.

* Peter Kallin (Rome) and Peter Lowell (Bridgton) for their tireless efforts to protect the water quality of Maine’s lakes.

* Lorette Adams (Easton), Alice Bolstridge (Presque Isle), Gail Maynard (Woodland) and Shelly Mountain (Mapleton) for their unwavering determination to ensure that Maine implements strong, common sense regulations to protect our waters, wildlife and citizens from dangerous mining pollution.

* Robert Godfrey (Eastport), People’s Choice Award winner, for his perseverance in protecting the beauty and heritage of Downeast Maine by leading the grassroots organization, Save Passamaquoddy Bay.