President declares Southern Maine counties disaster areas


PORTLAND, Maine (AP) — President Barack Obama has declared five Maine counties disaster areas, freeing up federal aid to help pay for damages caused by a severe winter storm.

Thursday’s declaration makes available money on a cost-sharing basis to reimburse towns, counties, state agencies and nonprofit organizations for damages from a storm that dumped more than 8 inches of rain on southern Maine and knocked out power to 150,000 homes and businesses.

The disaster was declared for Cumberland, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc and York counties for the period from Feb. 23 to March 2.