Redick wins Sullivan award


NEW YORK (AP) – Duke star J.J. Redick won the Sullivan Award on Wednesday night, becoming the first men’s basketball player since Bill Walton in 1973 to be honored as the nation’s top amateur athlete.

Redick beat out Texas quarterback Vince Young, who led the Longhorns to a national title with a win in the Rose Bowl over Southern California and its two Sullivan Award finalists – Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush.

The Duke senior also took the 2005 Sullivan Award over two-time AP women’s basketball player of the year Seimone Augustus of LSU, Florida hurdler Kerron Clement, two-time Olympic gold medalist in taekwondo Steven Lopez, Olympic diving champion Laura Wilkinson, 2005 World Cup champion skier Bode Miller, and gymnast Chellsie Memmel, the 2005 world gymnastics champion.

Redick was second in the nation in scoring behind Gonzaga’s Adam Morrison with a 26.8 average.

The Sullivan Award went to a men’s basketball player for just the third time in its 76-year history. Before Redick and Walton, UCLA’s All-America center, Princeton’s Bill Bradley won the 1965 award.

Last week, the Duke guard took home the John R. Wooden award as the nation’s top college basketball player. He had already won the AP’s player of the year award. But for the Sullivan, he was up against tougher competition. Of the other nine finalists, only Augustus, Leinart and Bush had not won championships.