Maine’s law banning smoking on outdoor restaurant patios went into effect last September, but supporters are reminding Mainers about it now that the measure is heading into its first full summer season.
Chris Davis, the Oxford County district tobacco coordinator for Healthy Maine Partnerships, said she wants to let people know they have a right to clean air space and that there are signs available for restaurants that want to remind customers of the law.
Violators could be fined between $100 and $1,500, according to a press release.
The smoking ban includes self-serve take-out establishments, as well as restaurants with table service, Davis said.
“This is the beginning of the season when people are beginning to go outside, and it’s just a reminder that signage is available for places,” she said.