Scholarship available in performing arts


LEWISTON — Thomas P. Peters II, on behalf of Lewiston-Auburn’s Community Little Theatre Eastman Scholarship Committee, is inviting seniors from Edward Little High School, Hebron Academy, Leavitt Area High School, Lewiston High School, Lisbon High School, Oak Hill High School, Poland Regional High School and St. Dominic Regional High School to submit applications for the scholarship.

The deadline is May 1, and submissions should be sent to Eastman Scholarship Committee, c/o Thomas P. Peters II, Esq., 937 Main St., Lewiston, ME 04240.

Qualifications include participation with the Community Little Theatre and acceptance at a college or university pursuing higher education in the performing arts.

The application process also includes a short essay, two letters of recommendation, a list of community and school activities, academic awards and a list of theatre/stage experiences. A recent photograph should be included with the application.

The Eastman Scholarship was established several years ago to honor the memory of Roger and Gertrude Schonland Eastman, two of the founders of the Community Little Theatre. Eastman was a past president and he and his wife were active supporters of the theater.

For more information and an application, contact your guidance counselor or call the theater box office at 783-0958. Applications are also available on the Community Little Theatre website