HARRISON — Scribner’s Saw Mill and Homestead will be open for tours and demonstrations from 1 to 4 p.m. starting Saturday, May 29, and continuing throughout the summer on the first and third Saturdays of the month.
Visitors are invited to experience an earlier time period when families owned and operated small lumbering businesses. The mid-19th century saw mill was operated by three generations of Scribners, starting in 1847 with Elijah as the miller and ending in 1962 when his grandson, Jesse, retired at age 92.
Products manufactured at the mill included dimension lumber, timbers, barrel and box parts, shingles, Peavy handles and other specialty wood products. Though restoration continues at the mill, some of its antique machinery is operational and barrel and shingle making are demonstrated.
The fully restored 1849 Scribner Homestead, located across the street from the mill, will also be open for tours. The house has been restored to interpret the 1920s, which was during the peak of the mill’s operation.
Scribner’s Mill is located along the Crooked River on Scribners Mills Road. For more information, call 583-6455.