Selectmen, school directors to be elected in Minot


MINOT — The annual town meeting begins Friday, March 2, with election of two selectmen and two RSU 16 directors.

Selectmen Dan Callahan and Dean Campbell are running unopposed for new terms.

However, while the names of current School Committee members Tina Love and Yvette Murray also will appear unchallenged on the printed ballots, two residents have announced that they are running as write-in candidates.

Over the weekend resident Eleanor Biron announced she is running as a write-in candidate, specifically challenging Murray for that seat. Biron is treasurer of the Androscoggin County Republican Party.

On Tuesday, Annette Hemond announced she is running as a write-in candidate. Hemond was a member of the School Committee for two years, leaving the board a year ago when she lost her bid for re-election.

Polls will be open from 4 to 8 p.m. at the town office.