Society to present oral history night


BETHEL – The Bethel Historical Society will observe the 40th anniversary of its founding on Wednesday, May 31, with a special oral history night at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, May 11, in the meeting room of the Dr. Moses Mason House.

All 11 surviving former society presidents have been invited to serve on a panel along with two of the remaining charter members to discuss their memories of the society through the years.

The first meeting of the society was held at the Bethel Library and included as recorded by its leading spirit, Eva Bean, the following: Bryant Bean, Margaret Carter Bean, Elizabeth Mason Carter, Philip and Mary Chadbourne, Rosalind Rowe Chapman, Edith H. Eypper, Agnes H. Haines, Floribel Haines, Ralph Hall, Edith K. Howe, Geraldine S. Howe, Bernice H. Noyes, Vance and Janet Richardson, Faye S. Taylor and Nell W. Valentine. The meeting is open to anyone interested.