State Elks honor lodges at annual convention


ROCKLAND – The Maine Elks Association held its 77th annual state convention at the Rockland Elks Lodge on May 5 to 7, attended by more than 400 members and guests. State President Elmer Berry, Lewiston Elks Lodge, opened the convention.

Area lodges received awards as follows:

Elliot the Elk and Friends Director William Deshaies of Farmington presented awards to the top three lodges in fundraising through that program: Farmington, third; Skowhegan-Madison, second; and the Gardiner, first. Best Youth Program Awards went to the Brunswick and Rumford.

State Public Relations Director Wayne Cotterly, Lewiston Lodge. presented the Best Public Relations Program Central District Award to Rumford Lodge. The Ambassador of Elkdom Award was presented to Debbie Briggs, Rumford Lodge. It is the highest honor that can be given to a Maine Elk for work in the area of public relations.

An Elks National Foundation Award for the highest per-member contributions to the Elks National Foundation went to Lewiston Lodge, 501 to 700 members. The Ritual Coach of the Year Award was presented by State Ritualistic Director Philip O’Brion to Justin Ingersoll of the Bath Lodge.

Americanism Awards were presented by Director Richie Philbrick of the Rumford Lodge to Rumford, first; Lewiston, third.

For more information on the Elks, visit, or visit a local lodge.