Trial lawyers elect officers


AUGUSTA — The Maine Trial Lawyers Association announces the election of a new slate of officers, including President Peter Clifford of Kennebunk; President-elect John A. McArdle III of Portland; Secretary Jodi L. Nofsinger of Lewiston; Treasurer Daniel J. Stevens of Augusta; and Past-president Daniel G. Kagan of Lewiston.

The new officers took their positions during the association’s annual meeting in Freeport on March 26. They serve for a year.

Secretary Nofsinger joined Berman & Simmons of Lewiston in 1997 and is a partner in the firm. She represents clients in personal injury and medical malpractice cases. She obtained a bachelor of science in biology as a pre-med undergraduate. Before graduating from University of Maine Law School in 1996, Nofsinger was a member of the Moot Court Board and was named best overall advocate. She was a member of the Trial Advocacy Team and she and her partner were the New England Regional Champions of the National Trial Competition in 1996.

Nofsinger interned for a year at the Cumberland County District Attorney’s Office and obtained a trial court clerkship with the Maine Superior Court. She is listed in the Best Lawyers in America for medical malpractice and is a member of the Civil Rules Committee. She has been on the board of governors for the Maine Trial Lawyers Association since 2002.

Kagan is also a partner in the firm of Berman and Simmons of Lewiston. He received his law degree from the Boston College Law School in 1988 and graduated with a degree in history from Middlebury College in 1983. He is actively involved in all aspects of the firm’s statewide practice, with a special emphasis in serious personal injury, products liability, and nursing home malpractice.

He is a frequent speaker on tort law and trial advocacy at legal education seminars. He has served civil justice through his work on the board of governors of the American Association for Justice since 1998 and the board of governors of the Maine Trial Lawyers Association since 1996.