Who will be inducted into Maine Country Music Hall of Fame?


AUGUSTA — Five country music personalities with a lifetime of performing have been nominated for induction into the Maine Country Music Hall of Fame for 2011.

They are the late Larry Dean of Caribou; Perley Curtis, formerly of St. Albans and now a resident of Galitin, Tenn.; Dick Philbrook of Belmont; Dick Pelletier of Fayette; and Merle Record of Oxford.

The new inductee(s) will be announced at the annual Hall of Fame ceremonies and show on Saturday, May 21, at Le Club Calumet, 334 West River Road.

Hall of Fame members as well as the four nominees will perform.

The event will be dedicated to Maine’s oldest living Hall of Fame member, Deak Hamilton of Falmouth, who celebrated his 100th birthday on March 7. He is an accomplished banjo player who was part of the country music scene going back to the 1920s and 1930s with Uncle Lem & the Mountain Boys on radio stations WCSH and WGAN in Portland. He also played with the legendary Katahdin Mountaineers with Hall of Famer Don Doane Sr. from the 1940s through the 1980s.

Dean, a legend in country music from the Aroostook County area for many years, died in 2005 at age 78. Curtis, an accomplished musician, has played steel guitar for a number of Nashville stars, including Loretta Lynn. He is married to Nashville recording artist Erin Hay.


Philbrook, singer and bandleader, has led the well-known Frye Mountain Band in the mid-coast area for many years. Pelletier, a bluegrass bass player and singer, is one of the founders of the Blistered Fingers Group and producer of his own musicale USA Bluegrass Pickin’ Party since 1985.

The nationally known Record is a leading steel guitar player and a member of the classic Record Family Band, along with his brother, Hall of Famer Elton Record.

The show will begin at 1 p.m. Tickets, $15, will be available at the door. Tickets for dinner at noon are $25, including admission to the show.

The Hall of Fame was established in 1978. Ken MacKenzie, Hal Lone Pine and Dick Curless were the first three inductees.