WASHINGTON, D.C. — This week, Maine’s Second District Congressman Bruce Poliquin announced that the U.S. Department of Education will award $3,649,824 to twelve Maine colleges and universities as part of the Student Support Services (SSS) Program.

“Maine is home to some of the best universities, colleges and community colleges in the Country,” said Congressman Bruce Poliquin. “This Student Support Services grant will ensure our Maine students have the resources they need to graduate and be better prepared for the working world. A great education can help lead to more opportunities and more freedoms.”

The Student Support Services Program awards funds to institutions of higher education to provide opportunities for academic development, assist students with basic college requirements and to motivate students toward the successful completion of their postsecondary educations.

The 12 Maine schools include: Maine University at For Kent ($288,181), University of Maine ($561,225), York County Community College ($231,103), University of Maine Farmington ($284,753), Northern Maine Community College ($247,583), Central Maine Community College ($281,511), Washington County Community College ($244,677), University of Maine System ($484,682), Maine Community College System/Southern Maine Community College ($220,000), University of Maine at Presque Isle ($301,355), Kennebec Valley Community College ($284,754), and University of Southern Maine ($220,000).

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.