MECHANIC FALLS – A School Committee member was elected to the Town Council and two incumbents were re-elected to the School Committee in light voting Monday.

A total of 130 voters took part in regularly scheduled municipal elections at the Fire Station.

Town Clerk Shirley Marquis said Aaron S. White received 80 votes to Roxanne M. Doyer’s 41 for a seat on the Mechanic Falls Town Council.

White currently serves on the school board, with one year remaining on his term. Marquis said he would have to give up his committee seat to serve on the Town Council. He expects the School Committee to name a replacement.

Terri L. Arsenault, who received 57 votes, and Joyce E. Crane, who got 74, were re-elected to the School Committee. Trying to unseat them were Roxanne M. Doyer, who received 43 votes; Veronica Lowe, who got 27; and Dustin G. Worth, 26.

Two seats were open on the Sanitary District Board of Trustees. They were won by the only two candidates, incumbent Wayne M. Marquis, who got 107 votes, and Randall Plummer, who got 90.

The polls opened at 9 a.m. and closed at 8 p.m. Town Clerk Marquis said the 130 voters does not even equal 2 percent of the town’s 1,805 registered voters.

“We’ve had better, but we’ve had worse, too,” she said of Monday’s turnout. “Usually municipal elections are kind of slow.”

According to Marquis, the annual town meeting will get under way at 6 p.m. Tuesday at the Elm Street School gym.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.