LEWISTON – The Central Maine Medical Center School of Nursing graduated 39 students Thursday, May 8, in a ceremony at the Bates College Chapel.

Susan C. Baltrus, associate director of the school, delivered the commencement address. Peter E. Chalke, president of the school and president and chief executive officer at Central Maine Medical Center, offered the welcoming remarks.

Having completed the two-year, four-semester registered nursing education program, the graduates were awarded associate degrees in the applied science of nursing. A number of graduating students received awards during the ceremony.

The CMMC School of Nursing’s President’s Award for the senior student attaining the highest academic achievement went to Melanie A. Kennedy of Durham.

Kennedy was also the winner of a CMMC Medical Staff Award for Excellence in Nursing in obstetrical-gynecological nursing. Kennedy was also recognized as a high honors student.

Melissa B. Sumner of Lewiston was the recipient of the Dr. Mary Ann Burn Award for service beyond the call of duty, and for unusual thoughtfulness, gentleness and kindness. Sumner was also recognized as an honors student.

Jennifer Ann Dubois of Turner was presented the Central Maine General Hospital-CMMC School of Nursing Alumni Association Award. The winner of the Alumni Association Award is chosen by members of the graduating class as the person they would most like to have take care of themselves or their family.

Jan A. Brinkman of West Farmington received the CMMC Board of Trustees Award, which is given to the student who demonstrates gentleness, independence, understanding, caring, compassion and love in communicating with and caring for people. The recipient must also exhibit excellence in delivering nursing care.

Jo Linda Russell of Brunswick was presented the CMMC School of Nursing Board of Trustees Award, which is given each year to the student who demonstrates leadership qualities, displays concern and understanding for others, makes decisions and assumes responsibility for his actions, and establishes trust in interactions.

The Dr. Donald H. Horsman Memorial Award was presented to Lynn Lorraine Bergeron of Lewiston. She was chosen by the nursing school faculty on the basis of a number of personal and professional criteria. Class vice president Bergeron was also recognized as an honors student.

Dale Ricker Gaudreau of Bryant Pond was given the Samuel L. Singer and Ruth Small Award, which is presented to a student who will become a credit to himself and his profession, and who shows pride as a representative of the CMMC school and maintains good academic standing.

Lisa M. Schinck of Woolwich was presented the Charles E. Fortier Jr. Memorial Award, which is given to the student whose “behavior as a whole is indicative of a people-oriented person,” who directs “his or her expression in action rather than denying its existence,” and whose “sense of humor permeates all of his or her activities.”

CMMC Medical Staff Awards for Excellence in Nursing were also presented to the following graduates: Tanya L. Nida of Brunswick, pediatric nursing; Jessica L. Rogers of Bowdoin, surgical nursing; honors student Tara Jean Russell of Portland, mental health nursing; and honors student Lori J. St. Hilaire of Lisbon, medical nursing.

Also comprising the class of 2003 are: class parliamentarian Heather L. Baker of Turner; Stephanie L. Baker of Richmond; Michelle L. Beaudin of Auburn; Melissa A. Beaule of Lewiston; honors student Jayne M. Boyer of North New Portland; Steven E. Brownell of Peru.

Also, Staci L. Burgess of Auburn; Jean E. Burkhardt of Lisbon Falls; Dalia C. Bussiere of Auburn; class secretary Natalie J. Buzzell of Minot; Shirley Ann Duggan of Brunswick; Sherri Lin Haines of Oxford; Mary J. King of Bath; class treasurer Shilo L. Mathieu of Greene; Henry W. McCarvel of Westbrook; Jessica L. Michaud of Lewiston; Hope A. Moore of Lewiston.

Also, Mercedes R. Peralta of Lewiston; class president Josephine A. Poulin of Jay; Lisa J. Pray of Auburn; Katriel M. Ramu of Yarmouth; Heather A. Raubeson of Brunswick; honors student Sarah A. Smith of Auburn; Cheryl A. Samson of Auburn; Karen M. Sullivan of Hallowell; Allison D. Taylor of Livermore; and Patricia F. Willis of Lewiston.

Presenting the awards were the following: CMMC School of Nursing President Peter E. Chalke; Sharon Kuhrt, director of the school; Susan C. Baltrus, associate director of the school; CMMC Medical Staff President Dr. Larry O. Hopperstead; Dr. Michael J. Monzel, chairman of the CMMC Nursing Scholarship Committee; Donna Morin, representing the School of Nursing Alumni Association; and Dr. Pauline V. Beale, chairwoman of the CMMC board of trustees. The Rev. Jay Turner, CMMC’s director of pastoral care and clinical pastoral education, gave the invocation and benediction.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.