BRUNSWICK – Ten Maine high school students have been named winners of the fifth annual Maine Student Writing Awards. More than 275 students from 50 schools submitted manuscripts. The annual competition is the only contest of its kind for young Maine writers. It is sponsored by Maine Writers and Publishers Alliance, the Maine Department of Education and the Maine Arts Commission.

The contest seeks to recognize outstanding young writers in a public forum, to foster literacy and to encourage more students to consider writing careers. Three winners were selected in each of three categories – fiction, poetry and creative nonfiction.

The winners will be honored at the Maine Arts Commission’s Artist Recognition Day in June. Their work will be posted on the Maine Writers and Publishers Alliance Web site.


First: Maggie Griffiths of Kennebunk, a student at Kennebunk High School.

Second: Orissa Moulton of Bowdoin, a student at Mt. Ararat High School, Topsham.

Third: Nick Tozier of Jefferson, a student at Erskine Academy.

Creative nonfiction

First: Maia Fleming of Gorham, a student at Gorham High School.

Second: Jasmine Hanafi of Falmouth, a student at Falmouth High School.

Third place tied: Meredith Ringel of Oakland, a student at Messalonski High School, and Oceana Star Schiff-Buxton of Peaks Island, a student at Portland High School.


First: Meredith Crawford of Veazie, a student at Orono High School.

Second: Canaan Morse of Manchester, a student at Kents Hill High School.

Third: Elizabeth Ryer of Cumberland, a student at Greely High School.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.