PORTLAND – Sen. George J. Mitchell and the Board of Directors of the Mitchell Institute announce recipients of the 2003 Mitchell Scholarships. One hundred and thirty students have been chosen as Mitchell Scholars this year from a pool of more than 1,000 applicants from across the state.

The Mitchell Institute provides scholarships to Maine residents beginning their first year of postsecondary education. A Mitchell Scholar is chosen annually from each public high school in the state of Maine. The scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic potential, community service and financial need. This fall, 588 Mitchell Scholars will be concurrently receiving assistance from the Mitchell Institute.

For the first time this year, KeyBank has provided funding for 16 Mitchell Scholarships (one for each county in Maine) in the amount of $6,000 each ($1,500 each year). These awards are targeted to first-generation college students. A list of these students is attached.

Area students receiving scholarships are: Rory Murphy, Brunswick; Justin Kangas, Sumner; Billie Jo Putnam, Peru; Robert Guerette, Auburn; Stacey Irek, New Gloucester; David Lapointe, Durham; Dakotah Woitko, Fryeburg; Michael Reutershan, Gardiner; April Stansfield, New Gloucester; Ryan Franchetti, Jay; Ephrem Paraschak, Naples; Melissa Veilleux, Greene; Katie Morin, Lewiston; Tracy Allen, Livermore Falls; Monica Phillips, Anson; Rebekah Bubier, Monmouth; Raechell Luce, Strong; Emma Carlson, Farmington; Jessica Hanson, Rumford; Nicholas Blais, Litchfield; Felicia Gray, Minot; Jenessa Vance, Windham; Kristin Pietroski, Winthrop.

Area KeyBank Mitchell Scholars are Lucas Michaud, Lisbon; Jessica Watson, Topsham; Megan Bernard, Paris; Sarah Drosdik, Rangeley.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.