AUGUSTA – Robert Spear, Maine Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources commissioner, announces the appointment of seven members to the Maine Arborist Advisory Council.

The following were appointed: Art Batson Jr., president, Lucas Tree Experts, Portland; Dave Newell, owner, Cyprus Landscaping, Freeport; Lois Stack, extension professor, University of Maine Cooperative Extension, Orono; Ted Armstrong, Pownal; Tish Carr, city arborist, Augusta; Bob Levesque, Fort Kent; and Wes Davis, Central Maine Power, Augusta.

Terry Bourgoin, director of the Division of Plant Industry, said the advisory council will provide guidance and assistance to the division’s arborist licensing program.

Council members are appointed for three-year terms. Some slots are prescribed by law (for example, one must be employed by a municipality, another must work for an electrical transmission company), while others can represent any segment of the industry. The membership encompasses all segments of the arborist profession and covers all areas of the state.

The council will hold its first meeting on Friday, Dec. 19.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.