PORTLAND – A woman has been elected president for the first time in the 92-year history of the Maine Association of Agricultural Fairs. June Hammond, secretary of Fryeburg Fair, was elected to the post at the association’s annual meeting Jan. 29 and 31 at Holiday Inn by the Bay.

Other elected officials are first vice president, Jon Whitten Sr., Clinton; second vice president, Francis Small, Cumberland; executive secretary, Muriel Bonin, Litchfield; and treasurer, Christine Savage, Union.

Directors serving are Paul Fox, Monmouth; Roger Hoffses, Presque Isle; and Elaine Emery, West Paris; and new elected directors are William McFarland of Windsor and Michael Scott of Houlton. George Barker of Farmington was re-elected for a second term.

Referendum Question 2, which was passed in November but which has been held up by Gov. John Baldacci, generated discussion, as did LD 1820, a bill submitted by the governor dealing with the harness racing industry and its relationship to racinos in Maine. For more information, contact Muriel Bonin, executive secretary.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.