AUGUSTA – Twelve community college students will be named to the All-Maine Academic Team for two-year colleges at a ceremony at 10:30 a.m. Monday, March 22, at the Senator Inn. The students (who will be announced at the ceremony) are from Auburn, Brooks, Orland, Unity, Sangerville, Presque Isle, Calais, Jonesport, Kennebunk and Portland.

Gov. John E. Baldacci will join Joanna Jones, chairwoman of the Maine Community College System board of trustees and President John Fitzsimmons to present the awards. Each student will receive a $500 scholarship, made possible by a grant from KeyBank of Maine.

The All-Maine Academic Team is part of the national Phi Theta Kappa program, an international honor society for two-year colleges designed to recognize academic excellence, leadership and community service among students attending two-year colleges. Students enrolled in an associate degree program at all accredited colleges in the state were eligible.

Two of the students attend Central Maine Community College in Auburn; two attend Eastern Maine Community College in Bangor; two attend Kennebec Valley Community College in Fairfield; one attends Northern Maine Community College in Presque Isle; two attend Southern Maine Community College in South Portland; two attend Washington County Community College in Calais; and one attends York County Community College in Wells.

Each of the team members is eligible for selection to the All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, the American Association of Community Colleges and USA Today.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.