The annual town meeting began Friday with the election of the moderator.

TURNER – Voters here Friday returned longtime Selectman Henry Gibbert to office and elected newcomer Dennis Richardson. They also elected write-in candidate Adam Schenck to a three-year term on the SAD 52 Board of Directors.

The annual town meeting began Friday with the election of moderator Ike Goodwin, and the polls were opened at 1 p.m. Town Clerk Eva Leavitt said 269 citizens voted in the municipal elections.

There were only two announced candidates for the Budget Committee. Current Chairman Kurt Youland was returned to that board with 198 votes and Bruce Ray received 191. Write-in candidate Mike Arsenault was elected with 14 votes to the final three-year term open on the committee.

Five announced candidates competed for the two available seats on the Board of Selectmen. Richardson received 200 votes while Gibbert got 109. The remaining three candidates were Andre Baillargeon with 41, John Durgin III with 75 and Robert Hamlin with 52.

Schenck received 21 write-in votes.

Town meeting will reconvene at 9 a.m. Saturday in the cafeteria at Leavitt Area High School to decide on the remaining 55 warrant articles.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.