LEWISTON – The Central Maine Medical Center School of Nursing graduated 47 students May 6 in a ceremony at the Bates College Chapel.

Peter R. Miller, RN, MSN, ON-C, faculty member of the School of Nursing, delivered the commencement address. Peter E. Chalke, president of the school and president and chief executive officer at Central Maine Medical Center, offered the welcoming remarks.

Having completed the two-year, four-semester registered nursing education program, the graduates were awarded associate degrees in the applied science of nursing. A number of graduating students received awards during the ceremony.

The President’s Award for the senior student attaining the highest academic achievement went to Kimberly J. Papsadora of Rumford. Papsadora was also the winner of a CMMC Medical Staff Award for Excellence in Nursing in surgical nursing. Papsadora was also recognized as a high honors student.

Charity McKay Norris of New Gloucester was the recipient of the Dr. Mary Ann Burn Award for service beyond the call of duty and for unusual thoughtfulness, gentleness and kindness.

Greg Andrew LeClair of Lewiston was presented the Central Maine General Hospital-CMMC School of Nursing Alumni Association Award. The winner is chosen by members of the graduating class as the person they would most like to have take care of themselves or their family. LeClair was also recognized as a honors student.

Melissa Ann Bourgeois of Hallowell was honored with the CMMC Board of Trustees Award, which is awarded to the student who demonstrates gentleness, independence, understanding, caring, compassion and love in communicating with and caring for people. The recipient must also exhibit excellence in delivering nursing care. Bourgeois was also recognized as a honors student.

Diane C. Thorpe of Union was presented the CMMC SON Board of Trustees Award, which is given each year to the student who demonstrates leadership qualities, displays concern and understanding for others, makes decisions and assumes responsibility for actions and establishes trust in interactions.

The Dr. Donald H. Horsman Memorial Award was presented to Aleta Joy Cugno of Bowdoin. She was chosen by the nursing school faculty on the basis of a number of personal and professional criteria.

Daniel Andrew Elliott of Rumford was given the Samuel L. Singer and Ruth Small Award, which is presented to a student who will become a credit to himself and his profession and who shows pride as a representative of the CMMC SON and maintains good academic standing.

Clifton Edward Fournier of Mechanic Falls was presented the Charles E. Fortier Jr. Memorial Award, which is given to the student whose “behavior as a whole is indicative of a people-oriented person,” who directs “his or her expression in action rather than denying its existence” and whose “sense of humor permeates all of his or her activities.”

CMMC Medical Staff Awards for Excellence in Nursing were also presented to the following graduates: Bobbie Jean Olsen of Canton, pediatric nursing; Elizabeth Ann Como of Lovell, mental health nursing; Robin Ellen Levasseur of Turner, medical nursing; and Laura Suzanne Dolan of Auburn, obstetrical/gynecological nursing.

Also comprising the class of 2004 are: Tanya Marie Bartlett, Poland; Jessica Sarah Bilodeau, Lewiston; Shandi Lee Blanchette, Canton; Terry J. Bronson, Brunswick; Linda Raye Rogers Doiron, Steep Falls; Lynne Marie Dostie, Raymond; Ashley Christina Doyle, Lisbon Falls; Jenna Lynn Fleury, Lewiston; Cynthia Suzanne Gahagan, Lewiston.

Also, Kimberly Ann Hall, Livermore; Kelly Jean Hatch, Hebron; Jennifer Pauline Hebert, Lewiston; honors student Harold Herschlag, Bryant Pond; Nicole Marie Johndro, Detroit; Jennifer Rebecca Jones, Stoneham; Denise M.S. Kidder, Dixfield; Ryan Marshall Kimball, South Paris; Kim Roy Kunkel, Scarborough.

Also, Shane Michael Levasseur, Turner; Anna Elizabeth McCabe, Gray; Heather A. Morin, Auburn; Laurie Ann Murphy, Lewiston; Debora Jean Ouellette, Turner; Amy Nicole Remillard, Leeds; Jeffrey Rowe, Norway; Jill Choiniere Smith, Leeds; Colette Sparks, Bailey Island.

Also, Debbi Lynn Tiner, Lewiston; Tammy Lynn Vigue Twombly, Old Orchard Beach; Carrie Julia Walker, Livermore Falls; Melanie Lee Whited, Minot; Alyson Elizabeth Whiting, Lewiston; Samantha Jeanne Whittier, Lewiston; Marie C. Wilday, Bryant Pond; and Charlene Kemp Willette, Sabattus.

Presenting the awards at the commencement ceremony were the following: Chalke; Sharon Kuhrt, school director; Susan C. Baltrus, school associate director; CMMC Medical Staff President Dr. Lanny Oliver; Dr. Michael J. Monzel, chairman of the CMMC Nursing Scholarship Committee; Dorothy Crowley-Noel, president, CMGH/CMMC School of Nursing Alumni Association; and Pauline V. Beale, OD, chairwoman of the CMMC board of trustees. Therese Demers, assistant chaplain, CMMC pastoral care, gave the invocation and benediction.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.