LEWISTON – The Central Maine Christian Academy recently held its closing program, “CMCA’s 2004 Night of Stars,” for parents and friends.

During the program at the United Baptist Church, preschoolers and kindergartners performed opening numbers, while elementary students performed scenes from a musical and songs, “On Life’s Highway” and “Gotta Keep Rolling.”

The CMCA Twirlers, who recently won first place in a statewide twirling competition, performed their winning number, “A Sunbeam For Him.”

Students from the sixth-grade through high school presented a talent show that included interpretive dance movements, musical solos and band numbers. The CMCA chorus concluded with the song, “Open the Eyes of My Heart.” Michael Mattaliano, assisted by Tammy Paquette, directed the program.

Academic awards for the fourth quarter for highest honors in grades five and up were presented to Nicholas Conant, Ashley Fenderson, Frank Montana, Bethany Nyberg, Lindsay Marchand, George Glass, Jakob Guy and Deanna Mattaliano.

Second honor awards went to Laura Hansen, Ashley Fish, Kimbre Chase, Sarah Nicholas, Audrey Bailey, Ashley Paquette, Calah Poulin, Amanda Fenderson, Sarah Beecher, Drew Letourneau, Jonathan Goorhuis, Danielle Boisse, Aaron Lindahl, Jolene Myer, Chad Jones, Samantha Rand and Pat Letourneau.

President’s Education Awards as well as congratulatory letters from President George Bush were presented to the student for making the honor roll consistently the past year: second honors, Sarah Beecher, Jonathan Goorhuis, Danielle Boisse; combination of second and high honors, Nicholas Conant, Amanda Fenderson, Audrey Bailey, Kimbre Chase, Frank Montana, Bethany Nyberg, Ashley Paquette, Calah Poulin; highest honors, Deanna Mattaliano, Jakob Guy, Ashley Fenderson and George Glass.

Perfect attendance certificates for the fourth quarter were awarded to Jamie Bubier, Brendan Croteau, Haylee Gagne, Nathan Ray, Jason Verrill, Brandon Hobbs, Allison Hodgkin, Heather Peak, Angelo Sullivan, Ashley Fenderson, Ashley Paquette, Samantha Rand, Danielle Boisse, Audry Glass, Jolene Myer, Audrey Bailey, Sarah Nicholas, Laura Hansen, Mark Jones, Matt Cyr and Mike Turgeon.

Special recognition and perfect attendance certificates for the school year were awarded to Ashley Fenderson, Audry Glass, Jolene Myer and Matt Cyr.

Staff members and volunteers who were recognized for their contributions to the school were Cynthia Cormier, Patricia St. Hilaire, Nancy Jean, Deborah Prescott, Bonnie Garman, Tammy Paquette, Ann Nicholas, Bethany Fragale, Tammie Mattaliano, Michele Hall, Ann Cushman.

Also, Carol Montana, Mike Mattaliano, Tom Clark, Michael Nyberg, Cindy Boisse, Lyana St. Hilaire, Ann Goorhuis, Rachie St. Hilaire, Larry Campbell, Michelle Hodgkin, MaryEllen Baizley, B.J. Jones, Deborah Letourneau, Amelia Hansen, Aly Chase, Julie Corff, Dawn Sullivan and Pat Zebley.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.