NEW SHARON – A new ATV club has been formed and is welcoming new members. On July 1 a group of more than 30 area residents met at the New Sharon Fire Station to create the membership club.

Bill Morse, president of the River Valley Riders ATV Club, Bob Dalot, president of Western Maine ATV, and Kevan McElhaney, vice president of the Mountain View ATV Club, were present to offer their support and knowledge of ATV clubs.

Officers were elected as follows: president, Sylvia Cypher of New Sharon; vice president, Paul LeBlond of New Sharon; treasurer, Janelle LeBlond of New Sharon; secretary, Kim Reynolds of Farmington; and trail master, Duane Reynolds of Farmington.

Along with the organization of the club, proper trail use and the ask-permission laws were discussed. Membership fee is $20.

The next meeting will be held at 7 p.m. Thursday, July 1, at the New Sharon Fire Station. Membership forms will be available at the door. On the agenda for the next meeting is membership registration, map/trail identification, bylaw acceptance and discussion of subcommittees. The club is also looking for space for regular meetings. For more information, call Sylvia Cypher at 778-4080.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.