FARMINGTON – Area University of Maine at Farmington students have received 2004-2005 National Science Foundation scholarships awarded by the Maine Mathematics and Science Teaching Excellence Collaborative. The scholarships are targeted to college students committed to becoming mathematics and science teachers in grades six to 12.

The scholarships were awarded to: Eben Baker, sophomore, secondary education: mathematics, Richmond; Katharina Berger, first-year, secondary education: mathematics, Belfast; Danielle Bibeau, first-year, secondary education: area science, Phillips; Christopher Blanche, junior, elementary education, Jay; Evan Botting, first-year, secondary education: mathematics, Holliston, Mass.; Michael J. Buzzell, first-year, secondary education: mathematics, Brunswick.

Also, Tobin Carson, junior, secondary education: biology, Starks; Kristin Chambers, first-year, secondary education: biology, Gorham; Sarah Colson, junior, secondary education: mathematics, Orrington; Chris M. Coro, first-year, secondary education: mathematics, Cornville; Bradley Cyr, junior, secondary education: mathematics, Millinocket.

Also, Megan Doane, first-year, secondary education: mathematics, Litchfield; Jessica M. Dow, junior, secondary education: physical science, Windsor; John Glowa, who received a BA in geology/geography from UMF in May, now pursuing an M.Ed at the University of Maine, Mount Vernon; Michaela Hanley, senior, secondary education: area science, Cranston, R.I.; Bryan Holmes, sophomore, secondary education: physical science, Skowhegan; Jessica A. LeFebvre, senior, secondary education: physical science, Waterville.

Also, Thomas A. McLaughlin, senior, secondary education: biology, Strong; Noah Phillips, senior, secondary education: mathematics, South Portland; Dawn Pray, senior, secondary education: biology, Springfield; Stephani Snyder, sophomore, secondary education: mathematics, Waterboro; Sara Weaver, senior, secondary education: mathematics, Winterport; Abby West, sophomore, secondary education: physical science, Skowhegan; Denise Cilley, junior, secondary education: mathematics, Chesterville, and Paul Alan Harriman, senior, secondary education: biology, Rochester, N.H., received the Robert Noyce Scholarship.

The University of Maine at Farmington is part of the Maine Mathematics and Science Teaching Excellence Collaborative, a statewide project funded by a grant from the National Science Foundation.

The project was established to recruit and support math and science teachers and to improve the quality of math/science teacher education programs within the University of Maine system.

The Robert Noyce Scholarship awards the recipient $5,000 for the 2004-2005 academic year. The scholarship is for juniors or seniors who change their major from science or mathematics to secondary education. Its recipients may also be eligible to receive funding for enrolling in a graduate teaching program at the University of Maine or the University of Southern Maine.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.