NEWRY – The 36th annual Bethel Area Chamber of Commerce Awards Dinner will be held Friday, May 13, at the Grand Summit Hotel, Sunday River Ski Resort.

Reservations may be made by calling the chamber office at 824-2282. The cost for a buffet dinner is $30 a person, with tables of eight available. Social hour and a silent auction will begin at 6 p.m., with dinner and awards following at 7. All are welcome.

The Henry H. Hastings Award for Citizenship will be presented to Stanley R. Howe for his years of public service. The Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to Muriel Butters of Bethel, cited as an “unsung hero” of shut-ins, sick people and the disabled.

The Forest Products Industry Award recipient will be Doug Walker, a lifetime resident of the Bethel area, who has spent his life working in the forests of western Maine.

The Business of the Year Award will go to Western Maine Supply. Founded in 1966 by Frank Lowell Sr., it is owned and operated by Bob Lowell and Frank Lowell Jr.

The chamber will present the Public Service Award to Harry “Dutch” Dresser. In addition to long-time leadership at Gould Academy, Dresser is responsible for bringing World-Wide Web technology to Bethel.

The Ski Service Employee of the Year will be presented to Marvin Collins, vice president of operations at Sunday River Ski Resort.

The Education Employee of the Year is Barbara Sabin, a kindergarten teacher in SAD 44 for 35 years.

Susan Isham will be presented the Hospitality Employee of the Year for being an exemplary employee at the Sunday River Inn and Cross Country Ski Center. Isham is employed by Pat’s Pizza as well as the Maine Conservation School.

The Service Employee of the Year will go to Justin Palmer of the Cinnamon Stick Cafe.

Two students recognized for citizenship will be Margaret “Nola” Wentworth of Bethel and Kevin Zinchuk of Albany. Wentworth plans to attend Elmira College, Elmira, N.Y., and Zinchuk is attending the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences in Boston, Mass.

The Taste of Bethel Scholarship will be presented to Jasmine Fryeburg of Andover, who will attend New Hampshire Technical School in Berlin, N.H., majoring in culinary arts.

MC will be David Murphy. Prepayment is required by the RSVP deadline of Monday, May 9; call 824-2282.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.