NORWAY – The Stone-Smart Post 82, American Legion, and Auxiliary were served a baked ham supper prior to their April meetings. The Supper Committee was chaired by Arnold Pendexter, assisted by Ernest Clifford, Ralph Moulton, David Tilley and Randall Henley.

Following the supper, Department Cmdr. Gene Bickford presented 100 percent membership pins to Post Cmdr. Randall Henley, Post Adjutant Leland Millett and Membership Chairman Robert Sessions.

Bickford expressed his appreciation for the work post members have done to reach 100 percent membership. “Due to deaths of members, you needed to get eight new members and you went out and got 10 new members,” Bickford said.

Henley conducted the Legion meeting and asked that the charter be draped in memory of member Raymond Millett, who died March 20. William G. Britting was voted in as a new member, bringing the total membership to 163 for the year.

Henley presented membership pins to new members Randall Jones, Eric Forrest, Charles Bowman, Lisa Sessions and Christopher Royce and welcomed them to the American Legion.

Bowman is the National Guard recruiter at the Norway Armory. Jones, Forrest, Sessions and Boyce are members of the 133rd Battalion Co. C, National Guard, and just recently returned from duty in Iraq.

Building Committee Chairman Ralph Moulton reported that the post had purchased 12 new tables and 51 new chairs for the upstairs meeting room. “We still need more chairs to replace the old ones,” Moulton said, “so we are still accepting donations for chairs.”

Americanism Officer Bob Sessions said he has met with four of the boys who were on the eligibility list for Boys State delegates. One boy will be away at the time, but Jacob Cash and Logan Landry will be delegates and Mathew Slattery will be the alternate.

Sessions said four members of the post attended the Patriots Parade in Portland. Bickford was on the reviewing stand, Lisa Sessions marched with the troops that had returned from Iraq and Bob Sessions and Leland Millett marched with the American Legion contingent.

The following were elected as officers for 2005-06: Cmdr. Randall Henley; first vice commander, George Tibbetts; second vice commander, Arnold Pendexter; finance officer, Ralph Moulton; adjutant, Leland Millett; chaplain, John Morgan; historian, David Tilley; service officer and Americanism officer, Robert Sessions; and sergeant-at-arms, Erland Twitchell.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.