ANDOVER – Andover’s Telstar High School graduates and friends gathered at the Andover gym for a social hour, banquet and meeting, including awarding of scholarships, on May 28. There were 130 attending.

The punch bowl was handled by Beverly Akers Swan, ’58, prior to the banquet served by Sharon Briggs Farrington, ’77, and her crew, including underclassmen as waiters and waitresses.

Seated at the head table were President and Secretary Dorothy Merrill Roberts, ’48; Vice President Violet P. Swain; Treasurer Ronald White, ’48; Rev. Jane Rich and Pastor John and Mrs. O’Keefe.

Of the 14 Andover/Telstar graduates, 10 attended, including Valedictorian Frank Emerson; Salutatorian, Matthew Mills; third honor, Lauren Barletta; and 10th honor, Andrew Farrington. He was one of a four-generation group.

Roberts awarded the Andover Alumni Math Awards: $50 to freshman, Mark Emerson; sophomore, Jennifer Learned; junior, Stephen Scotti; and senior, Lauren Barletta. The Science Award went to Frank Emerson.

The Andover Friday Club Book Award for “Desire, Motivation and Faithfulness” by Jane Rich went to freshman, Patrick Milligan; sophomore, Toni Morin; junior, Blake Conrad; and senior, Michael Brown.

The $50 Lila Farrington Memorial Scholarship Awards to four top 10 in the Andover/Telstar 2005 class were presented to Frank Emerson, Matthew Mills, Lauren Barletta and Andrew Farrington.

The East Andover Community Club Award of $150 for “Leadership, School Activities, Cooperation, Character and Scholarship” was given to Clayton Smith.

The Allyson Hodsdon Memorial Award for “Excellence in Junior Literature” went to Kayla Mills. Swain gave out the last three.

The Walter Fox Book Awards for “Scholarship, Faithfulness and Conduct” were presented by Librarian Janet Farrington to grade six, Sarah Averill; grade seven, Andrew Jones; grade eight, Candace Hall; freshman, Mark Emerson; sophomore, Jessica Putnam; junior, Cynthia Farrington; and senior, Lacey Gammon.

The Remington $100 Award for the second highest student went to Michael Mills, given by Daniel Remington; Andover Service Circle Essay Award to Michael Mills, $300, by President Andrea Savitz; Anna Thurston Memorial Award of $1,000 to Michael Brown by Bill Dunn; Sweatt Family Memorial Scholarship, four years, to Jasmine Fryberg by Gary Sweatt.

Jane Rich presented the John and Eunice Fox Memorial Scholarship of $2,000 to Lacey Gammon.

The Andover/Telstar members of the National Honor Society are sophomore, Jennifer Learned; juniors, Blake Conrad, Cynthia Farrington and Kayla Mills; seniors, Lauren Barletta, Michael Brown, Frank Emerson, Lacey Gammon, Matthew Mills and Clayton Smith.

Boys State delegate for 2005 at Maine Maritime Academy, Castine, is Blake Conrad; GirlsState delegate to Husson College, Bangor, Kayla Mills.

The oldest alumni attending were Cecelia Swett Adams and Harolf Falkehham, class of 1935. Lauren Barletta, 2005, sang “Angles,” accompanied by Michael Brown on his guitar. Nine door prizes were given, donated by local businesses and friends.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.