MECHANIC FALLS – Adults and young adults from Mechanic Falls, Poland and Minot received high school diplomas on May 20 in the Poland Town Hall.

Approximately 200 celebrated the successes of students in the Bakerstown Alternative High School Program and Mechanic Falls-Poland Adult Education Program.

Superintendent Nina Schlikin, Poland School Committee Vice Chairman Norm Davis and Minot School Committee Chairwoman Colleen Quint awarded diplomas.

A highlight of the evening was three generations from one family who graduated together: Beryle Strout, grandmother, her son, Edward Strout, and daughter, Dale Bartlett, and Dale’s daughter, Michelle Bartlett. All are from Poland and credit much of their success to their teacher, Crystal Morris.

In the historic hall that was decorated in red and white, graduates in blue gowns presented flowers to the relatives, friends and educators who had supported them in their educational journeys.

Dr. Nancy E.Watson, director, thanked the program staff for their dedication to the students and Watson congratulated the graduates on their perseverance and accomplishments.

Students who were honored with certificates for outstanding performance were: Cher Leclair, Outstanding Achievement in Computers; Casey Osgood, Outstanding Citizenship; Michelle Chabot, Courage to Learn; Jan Wing, Inspiring Example; Janice Small-Leclair, Dedication to Learning; Dale Bartlett and the Strout family graduates, Inspiration, Leadership and Example; Victoria Bilodeau, Outstanding GED Exam Scores.

Nicole Cameron was awarded a scholarship by the Mechanic Falls-Poland Adult Education Association of students and teachers. Cameron plans to study occupational therapy.

Trina Beaudoin was recognized for receiving the Courage to Grow Award and Scholarship from Central Maine Community College.

Crystal Morris, adult education instructor, was recognized for having received the Outstanding Educator Award from the Army.

Norm Davis was recognized for being a guest of Gov. John Baldacci at the Blaine House and receiving the Education Commissioner’s Award for Outstanding Service to At-Risk Youth.

Watson noted that graduates have gone through a process of personal transformation.

They have learned to believe in themselves as learners, just as their teachers believed in them. The graduates have learned they can set goals and achieve their goals.

Plans include nursing, teaching, culinary arts, the military, cosmetology, real estate, oil burner technology, carpentry, child care and operating small businesses.

Twelve are getting or retaining a job or job promotion; 22 are pursuing college or vocational studies; and five are joining the military.

The evening concluded in the Bakerstown Classroom at the Poland Town Hall where guests and graduates had refreshments.

The graduates are: Tracy L. Barnaby, Jessica M. Cothran, Michael S. Leclair, Dale L. Bartlett, Ashley M. Coutts, Mary-Anne T. Murray, Michelle F. Bartlett, Crystal M.A. Crowell, Jamie L. Nadeau, Trina L. Beaudoin, Michael R. Beaulieu, Colin S. Cyr, Crystal M. Frazier.

Also, Lisa M. Page, Joyce A. Parker, Victoria J. Bilodeau, Branden S. Gibbs, James M. Reed, Renee L. Bixby, Jennifer Z. Greeley, Heather Y. Boisvert, Brian D. Harrison, Paul Rogers, Nicole L. Cameron, Nicholas R. Heath, Beryle F. Strout, David J. Carney.

Also, Adam C. Higgins, Edward S. Strout, Michael A. Caron, Ashley A. Carr, David W. Johnson II, Victoria L. Jordan, Jedediah B. Tims, Brandi R. Townson, Jeremy A.E. Carr, Michelle L. Chabot, Raisa V. Krivoruk, Michael J. Trask Jr., Shawn M. Vadeboncoeur.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.