READFIELD – The staff and volunteers involved with the student health programs at the Maranacook area schools have been honored for their work in the field of health and school counseling services.

The CSD 10 and Union 42 Health and School Counseling Services and the Wellness/Health Promotion Program were selected as exemplary award winners of the 2005 Excellence in Coordinated School Health Award Program sponsored by the Maine Department of Education. CSD 10 includes the Maranacook High School and Middle School and the Union 42 includes those schools plus the Manchester, Mount Vernon, Readfield and Wayne Elementary Schools.

A recognition ceremony was held at the Hall of Flags in the State House recently followed by a tea at the Blaine House.

Cindy Flye, health center coordinator; John Reinsborough, retired school counselor; and Joan Mohlar, retired school nurse and health center volunteer were honored as key contributors to the shaping of health and school counseling services.

For wellness and health promotion, Nancy Martin, elementary physical educator; Nancy Moorman, Readfield Elementary School volunteer coordinator; and Sharon Chaplin, elementary school nurse, were acknowledged as key contributors to this field.

A delegation of school administration and staff received a plaque and a $2,000 award for each component at the recognition.

Superintendent Rich Abramson commented, “We are so fortunate to have such a dedicated group of staff and volunteers in our six schools who work together to bring a superior program in the areas of health services, school counseling, wellness and health promotion to the children within our communities. I am so pleased that they are recognized by the state for the work they have done throughout the years.”

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.